Geekerella – (everyone’s story) by Ashley Poston

30724132

Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Oh wow I can’t believe I’ve read more than 10 books this month. I guess my reading slump is history (just remembered I have exams in 3 weeks ah)

This book was reading a really cute fanfictions which has loads of real life traces. It’s a really pleasant retelling, and officially in my top 10.

How can I describe this? It’s an adorable love letter to us, well, geeks. I’ve cried more than 2 times and shouted ”NERDS UNITE” . Rather simple, it tackles deeper subjects such as ‘how media controls the celebrities’ and ‘judging people by their appereances’. It is very important to understand that people, most of the time, let other people see what they want them to, but that sometimes is not who they really are.

Towards the end, it becomes really frustrating and it pushed me to skim-read a bit. It’s just fdgjhknhd do you get me? I wanted the charade to be over and them to be happy, but no. It was almost like the universe was comploting against them (ha look at that reference).

I found identifying with the characters very easy. These days, it’s very common to find friends on the internet, so for me, the story felt very very very real. It pushes you into believing in what you love.

I’ve finished it in one day and it’s really easy to read. Definitely, recommending it.

Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite

It’s easier to be who you want to be when you aren’t trying to be who everyone thinks you are

The book’s been released earlier this month,so go check it out.

Buy Geekerella -Free shipping costs across the world

★★★★/★★★★★

Until next time, keep being fabulously nerdy. *wink wink- I can’t actually wink in real life*

Wintersong {during spring} by S. Jae-Jones

24763621

Title: Wintersong (Wintersong #1)

Author: S. Jae-Jones

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

OKAY maybe I miss winter…or not. But I’ve seen so many pictures on bookstagram and everyone was talking about this book, so I said…Okay, I need something I can let down from my hands to focus on homework.

I hope you can hear my sarcastic tone because I.COULD.NOT.PUT.IT.DOWN. I’ve finished it in one day and I am pleaseantly surprised. I haven’t watched the Labyrinth movie with David Bowie as the Goblin King, but maybe I’ll watch it soon.

So, the book.

After I’ve read the first part of the book, I thought it was really irrelevant, but it was a preparing tool for Elisabeth’s character development. Also, it made me doubt the Goblin King. (only a little, I swear that guy has double personality)

In some parts, this book reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses, don’t ask me why. Just that it’s heavily magical, this really mysterious guy (okay, ACOMAF…)

Liesl is not your typical princess. She is just so vulnerable, but at the same time very strong. Magical, but real.

The reader can easily identify with these flawless characters, I just love it.

As a new author, this is one of the best debuts.

And, the books is going to be translated in my native language:

‘Some of you have been asking me about whether or not there will be foreign editions of Wintersong, to which I can say Yes! Wintersong will be published in the following territories: Hungary Czech Republic Brazil Germany Turkey Romania’

I am really excited to read the second book. Definitely a fan of this author. I cried like a baby and her writing style is really well-crafted. Very poetic.

A candle unused is nothing but wax and wick,” I said.“I would rather light the flame, knowing it will go out than sit forever in darkness.

The kiss is sweeter than sin and fiercer than temptation. I am not gentle, I am not kind; I am rough and wild and savage.

There is music in your soul. A wild and untamed sort
of music that speaks to me. It defies all the rules and laws you humans set upon it. It grows from inside you, and I have a wish to set that music free.

I am not a saint; I am a sinner. I want to sin again and
again and again.

If I were a burning smolder, he was the poker, stirring
me into flames.

+the rest of the book.

★★★★★/★★★★★

Buy the book

Crooked Kingdom and the thief who has my crooked heart by Leigh Bardugo

22299763

Title: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy – SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING – this novel is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.

Oh wow (Cassie’s voice)

If I thought Six of Crows was slow-paced, Crooked Kingdom is so fast that I swear, I felt myself experiencing a heart attack  every 10 pages. I am still not in my best form, because hello, I have exams coming up and I haven’t started revision,but I’ve finished this book in a few days, considering I wasn’t at home more than half of the time.

If you ask me who’s my favourite character, I would probably say Kaz as he reminds me of an emo Nikolai Lantsov.  Am I right?

What I appreciated the most is the faint presence of character development. It’s okay to not be fine and let me tell you, Kaz doesn’t go all Christian Grey on Inej miraculously. This makes Crooked Kingdom- pretty much a fantasy YA novel, more real. The ending hasn’t disappointed me at all either. I’ve shed some tears -come on, I always cry.

We’re being reunited with some Grisha characters (pretty much my favourite chracters) who are playing an important role in Kaz Brekker’s schemes. Oh what schemes.

With every page, you just want to shout: ‘You crafty handy thief’. He always has some aces up his sleeve which makes this novel more exciting. As broken as he is, Kaz would be a great psychologist. I call him and Inej two broken windows, but put together they let in a beautiful rainbow. Not quite perfect, better than your all sweet romance.

It’s raw, broken, real.

I’ve never read a book where I loved all of the characters, including scums like Pekka Rollins.

Jesper and Wylan are really precious and they are going up there with MALEC.

Leigh’s writing style has evolved so much that the Grisha trilogy seems history.

I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.

We learn to hold our heads as if we wear crowns. We learn to wring magic from the ordinary. That was how you survived when you weren’t chosen, when there was no royal blood in your veins. When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something of it anyway.

Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return

She smiled then, her cheeks red, her cheeks scattered with some kind of dust. It was a smile he thought he might die to earn again.

Suffering is like anything else. Live with it long enough, you learn to like the taste.

Can I quote the whole book?

★★★★★/★★★★★

Get the book ♥