Ketterdam theme song

I’ve developed a fiery passion for Dark Cabaret/folk

I think this genre fits Leigh Bardugo’s books very very well

There you go, today’s treasure

Caravan of Thieves – Dr Flynn

Advertisements

Crooked Kingdom and the thief who has my crooked heart by Leigh Bardugo

22299763

Title: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy – SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING – this novel is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.

Oh wow (Cassie’s voice)

If I thought Six of Crows was slow-paced, Crooked Kingdom is so fast that I swear, I felt myself experiencing a heart attack  every 10 pages. I am still not in my best form, because hello, I have exams coming up and I haven’t started revision,but I’ve finished this book in a few days, considering I wasn’t at home more than half of the time.

If you ask me who’s my favourite character, I would probably say Kaz as he reminds me of an emo Nikolai Lantsov.  Am I right?

What I appreciated the most is the faint presence of character development. It’s okay to not be fine and let me tell you, Kaz doesn’t go all Christian Grey on Inej miraculously. This makes Crooked Kingdom- pretty much a fantasy YA novel, more real. The ending hasn’t disappointed me at all either. I’ve shed some tears -come on, I always cry.

We’re being reunited with some Grisha characters (pretty much my favourite chracters) who are playing an important role in Kaz Brekker’s schemes. Oh what schemes.

With every page, you just want to shout: ‘You crafty handy thief’. He always has some aces up his sleeve which makes this novel more exciting. As broken as he is, Kaz would be a great psychologist. I call him and Inej two broken windows, but put together they let in a beautiful rainbow. Not quite perfect, better than your all sweet romance.

It’s raw, broken, real.

I’ve never read a book where I loved all of the characters, including scums like Pekka Rollins.

Jesper and Wylan are really precious and they are going up there with MALEC.

Leigh’s writing style has evolved so much that the Grisha trilogy seems history.

I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.

We learn to hold our heads as if we wear crowns. We learn to wring magic from the ordinary. That was how you survived when you weren’t chosen, when there was no royal blood in your veins. When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something of it anyway.

Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return

She smiled then, her cheeks red, her cheeks scattered with some kind of dust. It was a smile he thought he might die to earn again.

Suffering is like anything else. Live with it long enough, you learn to like the taste.

Can I quote the whole book?

★★★★★/★★★★★

Get the book ♥

Six of Crows and a pool of knives in my heart by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first

It feels so good to finish a book again. I haven’t finish one in a while. I, again, didn’t work on my drafts. I have a Grisha Trilogy review to post, but now I need to talk about Six of Crows. I;ve finished it a few minutes ago. Oh man, OH MAN.

I swear my heart skipped so many beats that I need a check-up very soon. Probably after I am going to finish Crooked Kingdoms.

I am glad I’ve read Grisha before, just to understand the Lantsov references. But Six of Crows, is much better than Grisha. I was a bit reluctant at the beginning because we have different point of views, as you already know, I don’t particulary enjoy different point of views. I feel like you are stepping on mines, you are prepared to die but then, the narrative changes to another point of view. Briefly, I find it very annoying.

I liked the change of points of views here as I hated Alina’s point of view in Grisha. I disliked Alina alot full stop.

The character development is so obvious in their point of views.

And what I liked the most, is the diversity of the crew.

tumblr_nr4ikxbDT11rs0b4vo7_500h

How can you not love them? They are so different, yet so greedy.

You don’t have your typical good guys. You have bad guys better than the worst guys.

Sparks of romance, mischievous thieves,impossible heist.

Yes, this book is the perfect combination.

However, it took me half of the book to completely fall in this abyss of obsession, this is why I am offering 4/5 stars. The pace was a bit slow at times. Not too slow.

With every turning page, the tension sky-rocketed. I was so excited to see what the next plan was. I was there indeed.

Here I was, thinking I would say ‘another overrated book’, but no. YOU MUST READ IT. GUYS. YOU MUST.

Also, I was thinking about a Throne of Glass-Six of Crows crossover. I think Kaz and Aelin would be partners in crime while Rowan and Inej would roll their eyes every second.

Nooooow my favourite quotations.

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.”

Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.

No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.

When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.

“It’s not natural for women to fight.”
“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet there you stand.”

She’d laughed, and if he could have bottled the sound and gotten drunk on it every night, he would have. It terrified him.

Now, I found this band and it reminds me 100% of Six of Crows:

Katzenjammer

★★★★/5

Book Depository link £5.59 and Free shipping costs across the world

Gotta go and read Crooked Kingdom.