The Hating (Loving) Game by Sally Thorne

Now that I’ve got no exams left, I can read, read and of course read.

This is the second book I’ve finished this month (I will talk about the first one in another post)

25883848

Title: The Hating Game

Author: Sally Thorne

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

Now, now this is what I am talking about.

Joshua and Lucy’s relationship reminded me of Chuck and Blair’s. All the games they play, challenges. How they observe details about each other quietly – sounds familiar.

This book was so easy to read (a bit too short, I needed more) and the witty dialogue made it so entertaining. The most positive point about it was the absence of a love triangle. Of course, there were some jealousy moments, but c’mon, the plot didn’t revolve around 2 men-1 woman. This change was refreshing.

The main characters are definitely 99,9% real life cases. The one who pleases everyone because she wants to be liked, but she stands for herself when needed. The one who is hated by everyone, but in reality he’s a shy sweetheart. The dynamic between these two have melted my icy heart.

I appreciated how their relationship started as lustful, later developing into powerful love. Joshua is supportive, doesn’t want anything in return and helps Lucy with every step.

It was very refreshing to read a drama-free easy romance. If you want a cheeky story sprinkled with sweetness, The Hating Game is your ideal choice. Sally has definitely debuted like a queen.

★★★★/★★★★★

Check out the next release

Buy the Hating Game♥

 

 

Advertisements

July TBR

I can finally say I am done with exams. I will try my best on posting regularly, so stay tuned. 

Here is what I plan to read this month (+some books for school that I won’t list on here)

38447

Well, I am going to study this book next year, so I better read it before I watch the new TV series.

28954137

Started this in June because I’ve heard I need to read it before Lady Midnight, so here I am. I hope I can get to finish it this month.

31546390

You already know how much I love fashion.

25494343.jpg

Last but not least, this beauty.

What are you planning on reading this month? 

 

Crooked Kingdom and the thief who has my crooked heart by Leigh Bardugo

22299763

Title: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy – SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING – this novel is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.

Oh wow (Cassie’s voice)

If I thought Six of Crows was slow-paced, Crooked Kingdom is so fast that I swear, I felt myself experiencing a heart attack  every 10 pages. I am still not in my best form, because hello, I have exams coming up and I haven’t started revision,but I’ve finished this book in a few days, considering I wasn’t at home more than half of the time.

If you ask me who’s my favourite character, I would probably say Kaz as he reminds me of an emo Nikolai Lantsov.  Am I right?

What I appreciated the most is the faint presence of character development. It’s okay to not be fine and let me tell you, Kaz doesn’t go all Christian Grey on Inej miraculously. This makes Crooked Kingdom- pretty much a fantasy YA novel, more real. The ending hasn’t disappointed me at all either. I’ve shed some tears -come on, I always cry.

We’re being reunited with some Grisha characters (pretty much my favourite chracters) who are playing an important role in Kaz Brekker’s schemes. Oh what schemes.

With every page, you just want to shout: ‘You crafty handy thief’. He always has some aces up his sleeve which makes this novel more exciting. As broken as he is, Kaz would be a great psychologist. I call him and Inej two broken windows, but put together they let in a beautiful rainbow. Not quite perfect, better than your all sweet romance.

It’s raw, broken, real.

I’ve never read a book where I loved all of the characters, including scums like Pekka Rollins.

Jesper and Wylan are really precious and they are going up there with MALEC.

Leigh’s writing style has evolved so much that the Grisha trilogy seems history.

I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.

We learn to hold our heads as if we wear crowns. We learn to wring magic from the ordinary. That was how you survived when you weren’t chosen, when there was no royal blood in your veins. When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something of it anyway.

Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return

She smiled then, her cheeks red, her cheeks scattered with some kind of dust. It was a smile he thought he might die to earn again.

Suffering is like anything else. Live with it long enough, you learn to like the taste.

Can I quote the whole book?

★★★★★/★★★★★

Get the book ♥