Dunkirk Movie Review

images

I am writing this review after I have watched it, but I am going to post it after 5 days so I won’t spoil anything.

So, I went to the world premiere and of course I decided then I am going to watch it in IMAX.

First time going to ODEON in my city and I have a funny story to share with you. The guy from the entrance said ‘screen 7 is just around the corner’, but what he hadn’t said is which corner. All dark on that corridor, I had to turn on my phone’s torch. Then I found myself in front of the screen. After slightly stumbling on the stairs, I sat down. But the soldiers on the screen were a bit ermmm not homo sapiens. Unless I was supposed to see hairy gorillas. The men from the trailer looked more tailored? It turns out I was in the wrong place. One and seven look so similar that I got into screen 1 instead of 7 at the Planet of the Apes? Silly me. Anyway, screen 7. I was so pleased to see such a variety of ages with me. A few teens, but mostly adults and Christopher Nolan veterans.

I MAX because this film is phenomenal. As a History student, seeing the actors giving their best on set as a rememberance of Dunkirk, it made me very proud.

With big names like Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance and Kenneth Branagh, this film’s been promising since the beginning.

Not to mention Christopher Nolan who’s scarred me with the Inception ending. (I haven’t watched the Dark Knight Trilogy yet, sorry).

I wasn’t on the edge of my seat. I was drowning, fighting, crying with pride when the civilians saved the soldiers desperate to get home. I expected it to be good, but not THAT AMAZING. It took me 30 minutes to realise that I need to pay attention closely to the different point of views. I was seeing the present from 5 point of views : the civilians, Tommy (+Alex a bit later), one pilot, the other pilot and the commander. Eventually, they would all come together, only to leave some endings open to the viewer’s interpretation. Did Commander Bolton die? What happened to Alex?

Flawlessly executed, everything shows authenticity and I guess the gravity of the situation helped immensely when trying to get into their roles. I am pretty sure you will see more of Fionn Whitehead, a very talented young actor. I will not call him ‘the main character’ as Dunkirk does not have a main character. It’s about everyone.

Harry Styles proved that he’s learnt a lot from years of smiling in awkward interviews. (hey, I am a fan okay) Alex is a different pole, yet he’s done an admirable job. Every time Tom Glynn-Carney would appear on the screen, my heart would leap. He is a skilled actor and a charming man (praised his wool tie at the premiere aww). His character shows some development as well.

‘I’ll be useful, Sir.’ Barry Keoghan saved the world with his sweet tea in the role of George. You did amazing, sweetheart. You deserved better. But that’s how war is, unfair.

And last but not least because it’s traumatised me the worst, Gibson. Is Aneurin Barnard a Gerry? Is Aneurin a Frog? We will (never) know. I’ve seen that plot twist coming (my friend didn’t aww) and I’ve still enjoyed it.

Eventually, I am glad that someone brought Dunkirk back. In the end, those soldiers were not cowards. This film deserves all the positive reviews and the ones who said ‘there was no asphalt at that time in Dunkirk’, have you seen the spitfire scenes? The vessels? The extras?

Hands down, hats off, I am bowing in front of Christopher Nolan’s genius.

Honourable mention: HANS ZIMMER SOUNDTRACK

I think films should change us as much as books do. Dunkirk made me feel like a new person when I came out of the cinema. If you haven’t watched it yet, watch it in IMAX.

★★★★★/★★★★★

Leave a Reply

