Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller

12898

Title: Death of a Salesman

Author: Arthur Miller

Willy Loman has been a salesman for 34 years. At 60, he is cast aside, his usefulness exhausted. With no future to dream about he must face the crushing disappointments of his past. He takes one final brave action, but is he heroic at last or a self-deluding fool?

This is the first book I’ve finished in 2017.

This book’s a mess and if you read some information on the world wide cobweb of geniuses, you’ll find out that it’s supposed to be a mess.

I always read some quotations before reading a book (that’s how I usually choose a book when I am not really sure about its…quality). I was really surprised, while reading this book, that I was wrong. It’s a very short play which makes you beg for Henry VIII to behead you. It was one of the most boring books I’ve ever read.

Willy Bonka and his 2 sons: Sad and Beef. Their names are actually Happy and Biff- poor children cursed with repellent names. The meaning behind the story is lovely, what can I say…but the way it is exposed (or not) makes me think twice before reading a play again.

The book needs to be re-read so you can pick up the storyline which you can’t actually understand at first sight….or maybe the thought of the deadline made me hate the book more??? There is no engaging dialogue, only arguing. There are some hidden sparks along the play.

Probably this play resembles life so much that makes me hate it. It’s so blunt when it shouldn’t be. But hey this is a tragedy, it is supposed to make me feel pathos. I felt it for the author. Why write such a realistic play when you have the power of words to create whatever you want. I feel like Arthur Miller, instead of using writing as an escape, he made him feel sad.

The only thing I liked about it was the pun about Happy’s name. And these quotations:

Why am I trying to become what I don’t want to be … when all I want is out there, waiting for me the minute I say I know who I am.

The jungle is dark but full of diamonds

I realized what a ridiculous lie my whole life has been.

You can’t eat the orange and throw the peel away – a man is not a piece of fruit.

Be loving to him. Because he’s only a little boat looking for a harbor.

See, Biff, everybody around me is so false that I’m constantly lowering my ideals…

The only thing you’ve got in this world is what you can sell.

Sarah J. Maas offered 1 star. This is why I love her.

★/5

Leave a Reply

