Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760

Title: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Synopsis: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Woo woo woo I am proud of myself. I’ve survived the first term. Got relatively good grades and I remember almost everything I’ve learnt. Ha. And I escaped the reading slump… a relatively glorious end of 2016.

Now…Scarlet Scarlet Being used to Cinder’s POV, I found the change of POVs kinda annoying at start. Then Wolf appeared and Scarlet is a pretty badass heroine of her own story.

I really love how all of these books are based on fairy-tales. Marissa Meyer really is a talented writer who I came to adore by only reading the first book. I am not a tech mumbo-dumbo (ha) lover.

I am really pleased that we get glimpses of romance in this shattered mess of a world. It’s a balanced amount which doesn’t influence the real adventurous plot.

We get to know more characters and see Cinder’s changes overcome her situation. This book is a battle before the true war starts.

I’ve finished it rather fast (I still need to get back to my fast reading pace, but it was acceptable).

This book made me weep ah sweet pain.

Also, have you noticed how much Halsey’s songs match the book’s plot? because me too haha 

I am currently reading Cress.

Stars: ★★★★/5

Book Depository

scarlre

Visit my bookstagram

Leave a Reply

