The Great Gatsby and the Jazz Era

4671

Title: The Great Gatsby

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

THE GREAT GATSBY, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted “gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession,” it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s.

I have to review the books I read in August (a lot) and I am feeling really guilty for not posting for awhile, but I started my A levels yay. I always wanted to read The Great Gatsby, but the fact that I am studying at school now, put it on the ‘TBR urgently’ list.

I am so glad I read it. I have to write essays, essays, essays about it, but I hope it will not kill my passion.

Reading this book made me fall in love with Fitzgerald’s writing, so I am going to read all of his books.

If you really love Jazz Age, the Roaring 20s, this is the book you would love to read. Our narrator is Nick who Carries away (appreciate the double-meaning of name here) the tragedy. I am not going to tell you why is called a tragedy because that would be spoilers.

Nick visits some old money aristocrats. Everyone is a fake aristocrat in this novel. Everyone is a fake aristocrat in real life. And then the things start to go down down down alike as a tragic hero. I cannot say that I loved the story, pretty simple if you ask me, or the characters. Fitzgerald has a certain magic that enchances you from the first page.

The females are horrible represented: inclined to adultery and depravation. Of course, this is the product of the 1920s society.

Gatsby is the accurate representation of a dreamer who really wants to achieve his dreams. We’ve got the green light which I really thought was an UFO the first time I had encountered it. Silly me. It is a pretty modern novel where everyone starts to buy radios as well as cars…

The glamour, the detailed description of everything outlines a genius book. The gatzzzzzzz deserves its fame.

5 stars/5

I will end it with my favourite quotations:

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

I hope she’ll be a fool — that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.

Angry, and half in love with her, and tremendously sorry, I turned away.

And I like large parties. They’re so intimate. At small parties there isn’t any privacy.

I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.

Let us learn to show our friendship for a man when he is alive and not after he is dead.All I kept thinking about, over and over, was ‘You can’t live forever; you can’t live forever.

Okay I am going to paste all the book haha. Seriously, read it. ♥

Leave a Reply

