3 days, 3 books-Mara Dyer & CO

Screen shot 2014-11-16 at 3.39.53 PM

Name: Mara Dyer Trilogy

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Goodreads

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong

Here they are. The mountain I climbed in 3 days. The trilogy who made me wanna slay everything. See the covers? You don’t understand them at all if you don’t read the books, but they are truly beautiful. (I should make a top 10 book covers)

They weren’t on my July TBR but some devil/angel told me to read them now. I heard about this trilogy. I heard about the horror in it, being the main reason I started it.

I have no words. I need to bring the bag and dig in it to find them. They were like a mountain. I saw it, started to climb it. I knew nothing about venomous snakes, scarcastic fruits or heart attack inducing journey. I left for this journey unprepared: no antidote, no rope, no water.

NO MAP PEOPLE. I had no idea what these books were about. The first book wasn’t really good. It was weird, confusing, but right now, after I finished the third book 10 minutes ago, I understand how important is patience in real life.

The trilogy follows only one path with a climax that shook my entire being. (you pervert)

With this book, I have sinned. As the phone trembled in my hands, I checked the spoilers. I just couldn’t bear and decided to stop reading the book if that happened. When I saw that my favourite character will not hit the highway to hell or stairway to heaven, I kept going.

These books had been like a test. First one tested my patience, the second one my sanity, the third one my level of cortisol.

The first books were so important to get to know all the characters, the last one becoming the real deal. Every single chapter tested my immunity to heart attacks. Cliff hangers which made me think to hang myself at the top of Big Ben.

Royalty, indeed.

In the middle of it I thought I had enough. I wanted to pain stop. (Let me insert the GIF Elena because it shows exactly how I looked while reading)

vampire-diaries-elena-compelled-make-it-stop

Mara, oh Mara I hated the first book for making her look so insignificant and powerless. It hurt me to read something like that. Cruelty.

The titles show how the character develops. The second book was a beautiful evolution for Mara. The third book was pure fire. She became the rose I wanted her to be in the first book. She got the throns, not scared to take what she wants. She became herself.

In books, everyone compares her with a dragon or a bomb. Well man, I agree.

Noah didn’t disappoint me… too much. He is boyfriend goals all the way. He is a prince with a broken crown. A hero without wings or halo. Perfection scattered in broken pieces. He is humanly numb and beautiful. He accepts Mara with her dark side before he accepts himself.

Jamie was my sweet little fruit salad. My sarcastic son. He gives so much things to these books. He pours sarcasm on the wound and I loved his jokes.

We have so many Marvel, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings references in this trilogy. I just adore it.

If you wanna read them, you need a calming tea. A shot of cortisol and you’ll be okay.

If I ever wanna feel adrenaline, I’m going to read this trilogy.

I learnt so many things from it. But most important:to trust and fully accept myself. Everyone has a shadow in their soul, we just need to realise that it’s only a shadow and it doesn’t define us.

Quotes that broke and healed my heart.

Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.

Asscrown

You’re supposed to say, ‘All I want is your happiness. I’ll do whatever it takes, even if it means being without you.'”
“Sorry,” Noah said. “I’m just not that big of a person.

Everyone’s a little crazy. Some people just hide it better than others.

This is a love story. Twisted and messy. Flawed and screwed up. But it’s ours. It’s us. I don’t know how our story will end. but I know it will start.

Maybe sometimes we can only see the truth about ourselves if someone shows us where to look

“We’re mutants now?”
“Don’t tell Marvel. They’ll sue us.”

Rating:Rating: ★★★★★/5

Author’s website

Waterstones

Book Depository

Better World Books

Leave a Reply

