The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

17675462

Title: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Peculiar, puzzling, confusing. Those are the 3 words I would use to describe this book. I started to read it because my bookstagram feed was full of The Raven Cycle. I checked some quotes and I gave it a try.

As everyone says, you need to believe in it. You have to be patient and very careful at the details. If you are, you will get the key. If you’re not, you’ll still get it at the end… or not. I honestly didn’t know what was going on in the first pages, but then, for me, everything was clear. Maybe it is my experience, maybe not. The end, though, let me rethink my whole life. Maggie knows how to drop bombs more efficiently than One Direction drops albums at midnight, seriously. As Throne of Glass, The Raven Boys slightly prepares you for the next books.

Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah. What are you going to say? We’ve got the typical handsome gang of rich boys, a strange girl named Blue.. tres cliche. (At least this is what I thought at first) Can I slap myself? This book was so misty and amazing that I forgot about the number of pages. Forgetting is a realisation because I am always looking at the number of pages.

Blue is another badass female character. I am truly proud. I can identify myself with her in almost every page. She wants more, she does more. I truly adore her.

I loved how the story was not about romance at all. It was a taster of Maggie’s amazing writing style. I am so glad that I didn’t give up after 100 pages.

Goodreads

Author’s site

Waterstones

Book Depository

2 thoughts on “The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

  1. I didn’t love this one and I didn’t hate it. It just was. I felt like I was supposed to be far more attached to the characters than I was. Also, Gansey is a big jerk and I don’t like him one bit. That probably didn’t help.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

