A Court of Thorns and Roses

77493_original

Original Title
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Originally published: May 5, 2015
Series:A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Literary Awards: Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction (2015), YALSA’s Best Books for Young Adults (2016)

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever

This is my first real real review and I tend to drown myself in thoughts, but I am going to do it in my own way, without boring you.

This pyramid of book has its base on Beauty and the Beast’s tale, but we all know that a pyramid is more than that. When you reach the top, you don’t wanna come back down (has anyone actually climbed a pyramid? maybe the pyramid of feels)

boohoo

When I read this book, I wanted to read the final, because I was scared. ” What if she makes the wrong choice?” I liked the way Sarah did a retelling but she didn’t. The plot is very different than what I expected when I heard about Beauty and the Beast.

Feyre, the main character, became one of my favourite female characters ever. She is strong, loyal and doesn’t disappoint you. (okay maybe this is a lie… or not) She has one goal,  fighting with all she has to reach it and I can identify myself with her in almost every part. Even though she is a mere human, this girl doesn’t get TOO scared of beasts which are stronger than, well, everyone. Feyre is ready to sacrifice everything in order to protect the ones she loves. We all know the famous library scene with Belle. You will get this in ACOTAR, but you are going to cry, because, Belle’s alter-ego doesn’t know how to read.

Tamlin, the besty beasty Beast, is roughly criticised, but until Rhysand appeared, I actually liked him. He is described as a handsome man with golden hair. Tamlin is smart (as a Lord would be), always prepared to save his kingdom. I thought he is a bit shy at start. I was wrong. I always am.

9d62fd4fa48c4072_25

Lucien is my sassy brother. His sarcasm and jokes were so on point that I thought I was reading about myself.(I wish I could be that cool) The way his friendship with Feyre evolves along the story is something amazing to read about.

Rhysand is William Herondale for you. He has dark-raven hair, blue-purple eyes and an attitude of a star. Perhaps, he is made of stars. This character is covered by a veil of mystery and I wouldn’t want to reveal too much. You will truly, madly, deeply fell in love with him.

GIF-Cry-Baby-Johnny-Depp-OMG-shocked-surprised-GIF

In this book we don’t have any Beasts. Just diamonds covered in dust that need to be washed by life. If you think you won’t learn anything from ACOTAR, grab from the start a sheet of paper and write down the dynamism in character’s changing.

Forget about everything you know about this book and go with the flow. It will leave you in tears or under a spell. Buy from the start some roses to argue with when someone makes a mistake.

fairytalecarriage

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”
“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.
Dead—really, truly, I should have been dead for that.
But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”
― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

“I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Stars:★★★★★

Author’s Goodreads acc

Author’s site

Buy the book Buy the book

P.S: I am currently waiting for A Court of Mist and Fury to arrive and mending my soul with Throne of Glass series.

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas | Logophile Books

Leave a Reply

